For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser or Download our App.

18th Lok Sabha: Narendra Modi Takes Oath as Prime Minister for 3rd Time

It's hard to keep track of everything that's going on – so The Wire is bringing you this live blog of all things, big and small, that we think should be on your radar on counting day.
Screengrab from video.

New Delhi: Narendra Modi has taken oath as prime minister for a third consecutive term, but this time as the head of a coalition government. In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, results for which were announced on June 4, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fell short of a majority, winning 240 seats, leaving it to rely on its allies to form the government. The 2024 Lok Sabha were held over seven phases across 543 constituencies. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has won a total of 293 seats, while the INDIA bloc has won 234 seats.

Note: The live blog may take a few seconds to load. Please don’t go away!

Make a contribution to Independent Journalism
facebook twitter